Fieldbus Foundation Names Siemens Executive

AUSTIN, Texas, ­ The Fieldbus Foundation announced that

Hans-Georg Kumpfmueller, president of the Siemens AG Process Instrumentation

& Analytics Division, has been named to its board of directors.

Kumpfmueller joins other leading executives in the key automation industry


In addition to Chairman John Berra of Emerson Process Management, current

foundation members include: Kenneth Deken, Rockwell Automation; David

Eisner, Honeywell; Motofumi Matsumura, Fuji; Shuzo Kaihori, Yokogawa; Jim

Porter, DuPont; Claude Ricaud, Schneider Electric; Ron Szanyi, ExxonMobil;

Mark Taft, ABB; Hirozume Sone, Yamatake Corporation, John Eva, Invensys; and Hans-Georg Kumpfmueller, Siemens AG.

Fieldbus Foundation President and CEO Richard Timoney congratulated

Kumpfmueller on his selection for the foundation board. “Hans-Georg

Kumpfmueller will be a valuable asset to our organization as a director. He is a well-respected industry figure with extensive experience in the fields of instrumentation and analytical sciences. We welcome his contributions to the Fieldbus Foundation, as well as the continued support of Siemens AG.”

Kumpfmueller holds a degree in electronics engineering, and has an extensive career history in the automation industry. He first worked at Grundig in the field of oscilloscopes and semi-professional video cameras. He joined the Siemens Automotive Systems Group in 1981, and was involved in the development of electronic controllers such as electronic diesel injection, all-wheel drive and Anti-lock Braking Systems (ABS). In 1991, Kumpfmueller became head of quality for the Siemens Car Electronics Division, and later was named executive vice president for the company¹s automotive electronics plant in South Korea. Kumpfmueller returned to Germany in 1997 as the manager of the field device business within Siemens Automation & Drives.

Since 2000, he has served as president of the Siemens Process

Instrumentation & Analytics Division.

< | >