The FDA plans to define the term “gluten-free” for the purposes of food labeling. The FDA has produced a draft proposal in January and is accepting comments on the proposal until April. According to the FDA, a gluten-free food does not contain wheat, rye or barley; it also should not contain any ingredient made from these grains if the ingredient has not been processed to remove the gluten. Ingredients that have been processed to remove gluten must contain less than 20 parts per million gluten. Producers that sell food labeled as gluten-free that fails to meet the FDA’s standards will have their products deemed misbranded.

Source: FDA

< | >